My Life Coach! (Food because we share common interest)


We all need support to get through life, isn’t it? Most of the time, the support comes from people who are supposed to look out for us, our parents & teachers but for the large part of my life, it has also come from people who have positively impacted my life and who went out of their way to invest in me through thick & thin and made me- my Mentors.

Yesterday I had an insightful discussion with one of my life coaches, he guided me on ways to be a better version of myself. Just a piece I would want to share from our conversation -he said to make a better living, don’t take your role in life too seriously, don’t try to be perfect, don’t take your identity (Ego) too seriously, don’t judge anyone, and allow people to be the way they are.

I’ve been fortunate to meet a lot of wonderful people from who I’ve learned a lot, and who I look up to. I have been blessed with several great, knowledgeable mentors who have helped me develop professionally and personally, and each of them had a profound and lasting impact on me.They are smart, experienced, and always had my best interests at heart. My strong relationship with my mentors has helped me challenge myself, to improve and grow. And the best part, they never actually spoon-fed me–but always helped me to develop my own opportunities.

There are too many to name in this journal, but here’s a sampling of some who have impacted me personally.

  • My parents and Tauji (Dad’s elder brother): my go-to people who still teach me-focus on integrity, values, common sense, calmness, and being good with people.
  • My high school teacher, Mrs. Abanti Gupta who has encouraged me. Thank you for believing in me, making me what I am today, you made a wonderful difference in my life. I still remember, during one of the tuition classes, we were talking about love & relationship (my inquisitive nature to know more about people’s thoughts on all topics); she said “Änamika, when a person like you fall in love, they make history”, back then I never knew that this would be true one day, though I didn’t make any history, but close ones know where this is coming from. 
  • My friend, philosopher, and guide, my first ever manager, and my life coach now; Simmrat Bindra. The mentor who has invested in me immensely, both professionally and personally. She believed in me that I could excel at work and go places with the attitude I carry. My passion for hiring grew because of her, her profound communication skill, Having the opportunity to learn from her has made a substantial change in my career. When we first began working together, I never imagined I would be able to make as much progress as I have.
  • The Director/Founder of Spencer n Hills Consulting (my first employer); Amit Sharma, is a true people person and not just a boss! I remember a conversations with him during which he peppered me with questions for a long time. At the end of the interrogation, he said “Anamika, look at yourself in the mirror and always feel like you are wearing an invisible crown”! I asked him, “Well, what do you think I should do?” His answer was very telling: “You just figured out what you should do; you just haven’t committed to doing it.” The best mentors ask lots of questions. They get information before making recommendations. He has helped in boosting my morale and confidence whenever life took a toll on me.
  • Harshdendra Soin, CPO of Tech Mahindra (my second employer). The man of dignity and integrity with a high IQ & EQ. People person in true sense. During a one-on-one conversation, I put across my thoughts of resigning due to some personal reason and he said, “I am surprised, you are one of the most motivated persons I have come across”. He inspired me to do well in life financially as well as mentally. He said if you are not happy in life then there’s something wrong, fix that but don’t just give up on your passion. He was right: the conversation had clarified my thoughts, and he had led me through the choices to a course of action that was completely my own. Instead of an answer, he had given me a path.
  • My immediate manager at Tech Mahindra. Joji Litto. Most of my positive thoughts come from her, she is an inspiration. She always recommended I develop a network/social circle, read a book, visit an exhibit, get into a hobby, take care of my mind body & soul or change a course of action–but she never dictates a change of course. All of that was on me. She always says “Don’t wish things were different. Just be better next time”. During one of our drives back home in Pune, I told her “That person doesn’t understand me.” To which she said “Have you ever thought that it might be the other way around? People are different. Do your best to put yourself in the other person’s shoes”
  • Antara Parbat, senior ex-colleague, philosopher, and guide. She has helped me in choosing the right path, in her words; “Life has many choices; choose wisely because you get what you choose. You must decide what you wish to do. You are the only person that can determine your destiny”.
  • Neeta, senior ex-colleague and dear friend, always says- Treat people well. The world is small. We’re humans. And humans are emotional. And emotions make people do weird things. Don’t do weird things to people. At the same time, they also taught me not to tolerate wrongdoings, during a conversation (one of my low phases of life) Ramakrishna (RK) said (an ex-manager), “Don’t let people misbehave with you, control you”. Manasi once quoted “Teach people how to treat you”. I have learned a great deal from them.

I know that what I am today have had occurred, in large part, because of the support of my mentors; I am profoundly grateful to my many mentors—those named here and the many others who are not (Krishna Gopal, seasoned leader at Tech Mahindra (always believed in me), RK, Neeta, Anita Pratap (helped me in taking decision to join my current employer) & Manasi Poddar). Your unselfish investments in me have enriched my life beyond measure. 

With every mistake I make, a book I read, a meaningful conversation with my mentors, I feel that I know nothing….

Leave a comment